Knitted shawl

shawl close-up

Having had my Introduction to knitting a month ago, I decided it was time to attempt to follow a knitting pattern. There were two patterns that I liked, one for a vintage 1940s shawl with a collar and the other for the Simple yet effective shawl by Laura Chau. I hadn’t realised what a mental challenge I had set myself! I had also set myself a tight deadline of 10 days, as I wanted to take it to a wedding.

The first obstacle was to work out how many balls of wool I would need and what kind of wool. Arty Crafty came to my rescue and equipped me with wool and shiny new knitting needles. I decided against the vintage pattern as it was going to be £30 worth of wool which seemed ambitious for a beginner!

I made a confident and progressive start but soon realised that it wasn’t looking like the picture! I had done increases instead of yarn over, so didn’t have any of the holes that made up the pattern!

stage 1

So I started again!

Second attempt and, following the pattern correctly, it was looking much more like the picture. I tied some different colour wool onto my knitting so I could see where the middle was. However, I had only done about 10 rows and already my stitches were taking up quite a lot of the needles; there was no way all the stitches were going to fit. So I read the pattern again and noticed one small word I had missed – “circular” needles.

stage 2

So I started again (after a panic dash to a few shops to find the right needles)! I also invested in some stitch markers to help keep the holes in the middle.

Third attempt, and everything was going well, until I got completely stuck. Apparently I had knitted into the wrong bit of one stitch but it was all my undoing and redoing that created the real chaos. I had a row of complete mess! Back to Arty Crafty for a rescue and I was away again.

By this time, I had spent so much time knitting that my neglected son had created a number of imaginative ways of knitting sabotaging, attention seeking. It is quite hard to finish a row with a small boy balancing on your leg or holding onto an elbow. Despite all this, after a week I had a finished shawl. I decided to add a big wooden button and crocheted loop to the front to help it stay on. Here is the final result:

finished shawl

I really enjoyed knitting this and it was perfect for an English summer evening. Next time, however, I will give myself a longer deadline and not attempt it during half term holidays!

Thanks for reading.

3 thoughts on “Knitted shawl

  1. Nicely done. You can claim that row as the Amish do. They will intentionally put imperfections into their work to keep themselves humble. That is your humble row.

    I use coloured yarn for my stitch markers, too. But I put mine around the needles, and “slip” them each row. The tail kind of gets caught between the rows, but it works well for me, I usually have them available, and they don’t cause the stitch to be overly large.

Comments are closed.