The Gruffalo birthday party

THE GRUFFALO BIRTHDAY PARTY

Gruffalo party

When my son was two, I decided to throw him a Gruffalo party. At the time, he was choosing the book for every bedtime story and he knew parts of it by heart.

I love Birthday parties and tend to go completely overboard. I decorated our small living room with green balloons, banners and made some giant green paper pom poms from a tutorial by Best friends for frosting.

banners

 

pom poms

I found a great Gruffalo cupcake idea at Sun hats and wellie boots which the kids happily covered themselves with (and everything else).

Gruffalo cakes

As we don’t have much room, I filled my leftover Graze boxes for the children and they had an indoor picnic. The boxes included Roasted fox (Vegetarian rolls), Scrambled snake (Cheese & tomato quiche), Knobbly knees (Cheddar wafers), Deep dark wood (Carrot & cucumber sticks), Gruffalo eyes (Babybel), Poisonous warts (Grapes), Purple prickles (Blackberries).

Picnic boxes

I Astroturfed the kitchen table and the adults had a themed buffet lunch.

The party was a huge success and I had lots of fun making everything (even if I still couldn’t persuade my son to eat carrots or cucumber!).

Thanks for reading.