Crocheted blanket

CROCHETED BLANKET

crocheted blanket

As My Teal Giraffe is completely new, I’m going to start with some retrospective posts about projects that I have enjoyed doing over the past three years. This crocheted blanket was my biggest project as it was a completely new craft for me.

In the summer of 2012, I decided to learn to crochet so that I could make a blanket for my son’s cot. It was a steep learning curve but, thanks to Purl Bee and a book, I learned the basics for a granny square.

My first square was a triumph for me but a mess!

Granny square18 months later, I had all the squares that I needed. My son was now in a bed and I did, fleetingly, think I would make it single bed size but settled on toddler bed size instead to preserve my sanity.

Squares layout

I then had the challenge of constructing the blanket. My Mother-in-law suggested I just “crochet them together” which, when I worked out how, I did.

My son loves the blanket and likes to tell people that “Mummy made it” (although it does get hidden for play dates).

Final blanket

I had a few spare squares left over so made a cushion to match.

image

I am now learning how to follow a pattern so I can make a toy giraffe – it’s taking quite a bit of the grey matter. That will all be in a future post.

Thank you for reading.

One thought on “Crocheted blanket

Leave a Reply

